walleyeking69

Questions

Im new to painting baits. Painting plastic baits with createx and using devcon 2t.

when putting baits on my modified grill rotisserie dryer do the have to be parallel to the shaft or can they be perpendicular?

been having trouble with uneven coating of devcon, using cheap acid brushes from menards to apply. just seem to always get an uneven coat.i have only coated 3 baits.

it's frustrating me because my airbrushing skills are decent but i am always unhappy after i put on the epoxy.

Thanks for your help in advance. this site is great and has given me alot of useful info.

Edited by walleyeking69

When brushing on the clear coat I get much better results by using a quality, natural hair artists brush. There are several different types of natural hair brushes that you can use. Mine are Sable. You of course have to clean them after using, but in my opinion you get a much smoother coating. Take care of them and they will last a very long time. My baits run parallel to the center shaft on my lure turner and have not tried turning them any other way so I can't really say one is better than the other. All I can tell you is that I have no problems drying them this way. It could be that your trying to apply too much clear coat at a time. A thin, even coat works best for me when using epoxy. Hope this helps.

Ben

I have tried both axes and it did not seem to make any difference.

At the starting out stage, only one epoxy mix to one lure. After applying the epoxy fairly thick, long sweeping strokes from nose to tail and lift off the excess with the brush. Keep the lure moving in your hand so that the epoxy does not get a chance to pool. Strong lighting to look for blemishes and missed spots. Epoxy has to be thick in order to level out, but it can be too thick.