rugbyfisherman

Plastic Hardener Question

My question is, how much hardener do I need to add to 1 gallon of Calhoun super-soft plastic to make a really hard plastic compound? I am fairly new to soft plastics and I just got a beaver mold but I want to make the plastic as hard as RI beaver baits. I added about 4-5 caps to 2 cups and I found it was not nearly hard enough...I just want to get my ratios right. Thanks,

My question is, how much hardener do I need to add to 1 gallon of Calhoun super-soft plastic to make a really hard plastic compound? I am fairly new to soft plastics and I just got a beaver mold but I want to make the plastic as hard as RI beaver baits. I added about 4-5 caps to 2 cups and I found it was not nearly hard enough...I just want to get my ratios right. Thanks,

who's hardener are you using?

I buy my hardener from a local Canadian supplier, I believe it is Lurecraft. I have 1 quart of hardener and I think I may just mix it with 1 gallon of super-soft. I have been making small batches and have tried calculating it and I think 1 quart per gallon will be hard.

you probably got it from mike right?

lure craft's is a liquid and takes a bit more, calhouns is real thick and doesnt take as much. but that sounds close.

Edited by SHK

I'm not sure what beaver bait you are poring but if you just want it to be more durable - have you tried dipping it in hard plastic? I do this with frogs, tubes, etc. Just pour a medium / soft bait, then dip it in hard. It makes it very durable but keeps the bait soft in the fishes mouth. The fish will hold the bait for a long time. I know several others who use this technique as well and it works great. Just to save the effort of an experiment - if you try this - don't dip small appendages. It will either melt them off, or create a blob. Either way you end up with a mess - so I've heard ; )