CHESAPEAKE-MARK

Help On Repaint Project / Hobby

I'm thinking of buying an airbrush to repaint some PLASTIC lures (herring blue on the back) & use for jigs. I am a beginner painter and have done some research on this, but still learning...

• do I have to sand the lure for the paint to stick? base coat needed?
  • any suggestions for the herring blue paint? is there something that flashes like they use on rattle traps?
  • I want to use a top coat. I use devcon on my jigs. Would this work or is there a spray on top coat?
  • Also - anyone mix or sprinkle flakes before the top coat (added flash)?

Mark

I'm thinking of buying an airbrush to repaint some PLASTIC lures (herring blue on the back) & use for jigs. I am a beginner painter and have done some research on this, but still learning...

• any suggestions for the herring blue paint? is there something that flashes like they use on rattle traps?
  • I want to use a top coat. I use devcon on my jigs. Would this work or is there a spray on top coat?

Mark

I always sand plastic and put a base coat of white and devcon will work. as for the blue back, haven't painted that color so not sure what color would be right. And I have added glitter from a spray can it seems to work but put it on before your topcoat.

Jeff

RiverValleyCrankbaits

I do the same as Jeff but I also put the flakes in my Devcon and mix it up. I thin it with denatured alcohol so it goes on smooth. After it dries I go back and put another thin coat over it. Hope this helps.

Mark

My decision for tools has changed some - I want to be able shoot powder, too. Barlow's sells a specific airbrush for this - is there anything special about it or do I just need a large diam needle (which)? I would like to buy 1 airbrush tool for repaints (liquid) & powder for my jigs. Any ideas would help. I looked at a airbrush paint forum but they are all doing autos ... different crowd / application.

Mark