bathtubbaits38

Swimbait Through Wire

I am fairly new to making swimbaits. The only ones that I have done is with basswood, which is strong enough that I can use screw eyes for hangers and joints. The only promblem is that I dont like how heavy the bait has to be in order for it to sink. Does anyone know the strongest way, if any, to do a through wire on a balsa swimbait? Thanks

I am fairly new to making swimbaits. The only ones that I have done is with basswood, which is strong enough that I can use screw eyes for hangers and joints. The only promblem is that I dont like how heavy the bait has to be in order for it to sink. Does anyone know the strongest way, if any, to do a through wire on a balsa swimbait? Thanks

The only way I can envision doing a true thru-wire in a segmented balsa bait is to run stainless wire from the nose to the tail with the joints formed into interlocking hand wound eyes. It would be a royal pain to get proper spacing for the joint eyes, but not impossible. In reality, I'd opt for a lighter wood like cedar or paulownia. Or I would do it in balsa but use hand wound screw eye joints (they have much greater glue area) glued with epoxy into a split bait segments. A continuous epoxy backbone strengthens a balsa bait considerably. Enough that a bass will never tear one apart. Now, if you're talking musky baits, that's a different kettle of fish.

I am fairly new to making swimbaits. The only ones that I have done is with basswood, which is strong enough that I can use screw eyes for hangers and joints. The only promblem is that I dont like how heavy the bait has to be in order for it to sink. Does anyone know the strongest way, if any, to do a through wire on a balsa swimbait?

You actually don't have a problem and you can stay with the heavier wood.