YakAngler81

What Process Is This?

I was on another site and came across this picture. It wasn't painted, but it also doesn't look like it was photo finished. I'm a rookie painter and would like to just do a bait like this. Does anyone know how it was done?

DSC03949.jpg

Edited by Swagger

I was on another site and came across this picture. It wasn't painted, but it also doesn't look like it was photo finished. I'm a rookie painter and would like to just do a bait like this. Does anyone know how it was done?

DSC03949.jpg

While I can't say with certainty, It could well be Photo (tissue paper) on foil and finished with an airbrush. The foil seems be applied over mesh, ala Fatfingers technique.

Whatever method the builder used, it came out great.

http://www.tackleunderground.com/community/topic/12000-photo-finishing-foil-and-faux-finishes/

It looks like a plastic bait that was painted to me, a store bought bait, or one from a neat mold.

To me, it looks like they did a basic pearl silver or white base, shot some turqoise onto the upper gill plates and trailed it back onto the sides a ways, and then used solvent-based sharpies to add the yellow and brown details.

However they did it, it looks great.

Edited by mark poulson

It is a photo finished Pumkinseed pattern. He applies the photo on each side and then blends in the back and belly to match the baitfish.

I agree. If you read the thread on the link that pizz posted the guy that did it says he can't paint good enough to do that.

It is a photo finished Pumkinseed pattern. He applies the photo on each side and then blends in the back and belly to match the baitfish.

What I don't understand is how he printed into those tiny details around the gills. I don't know nor can I imagine a photofinish process that can print into those places.

I agree. If you read the thread on the link that pizz posted the guy that did it says he can't paint good enough to do that.