Cormorant Lures

Worms Per Plastic Ratio

Here's a question straight from a newbie... How many 4" or 5" senko type baits can you make out of a gallon of Plastisol?

Oh and by the way, I have an ad in the "wanted section"... I have absolutely NO supplies what-so-ever... I am totally new to this excellent hobby... I love to fish, and even love more the thought of catching fish with baits I made myself.... I have jumped from site to site, checking out what each supplier brings to the table... It seems as though you need quite a bit of money to get started!!! A few hundred bucks doesn't seem to get you much... Am I wrong for thinking this way?!? Where I live, I believe I am in an "untouched market"... I don't think there are to many people around me pouring there own baits... There could be money to be made right here in my own backyard... I think I could market my baits quite well... Is the investment worth the risk?!? Let me know what you think... THANKS!!! :)

There could be money to be made right here in my own backyard

It could be but I would recommend going forward as a hobby and not ruining your first experience. I started 2 years ago and I will tell you that to start count on 5 gallons or at least 1 gallon so that you have plastic while 5 gallons is on its way :unsure: I bought a combo stick mold from del and a dozen open pour RTV molds from lurecraft and that kept me into it, I now have jumped to injection and love it just keep it simple at first and if you get things going then by all means go for it.

Its not hard to figure the lures out of a gallon after you have poured a batch because different molds have different sprus some larger and deeper some shallower. If im right here I can normally get 7 five and a quster inch sticks out of 4oz plastic. There is 128oz in a gallon =224 stix per gallon. Think thats right little early for math LOL.

Get you a starter kit from bear or del and give it a try first and make sure it is really somthing you want to do.