jackg

Painting With Brushes

You can buy canned air that connects to a paint sprayer. Its fairly cheap and is the way I first started painting up a few of my lures. It won't get near the detail of an airbrush, but is pretty fun to just tinker around with your baits to see what you come up with. Here is a link to the sprayer:

http://greens-garage.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=1&products_id=8

Jack,

I am a beginner brush painter. I am learning to paint lures with small water color brushes.

http://www.walmart.c...-6-set/17690352

I am following a method taught by Hans Nordin of Sweden. I was introduced to this by Diemai. Currently I am painting with "folk art"acrylics.

http://www.walmart.c...t-2-oz/17300135

But any paint maybe used. The key to success is to thin the paint. I store thinned paint in a set of little plastic painter sets. Using a color wheel the paints may be mixed to just about any color you imagine. I use water based paints because of health, safety,cost and availabiity. I may paint on the couch or kitchen table without much concern of hurting myself or my family. The cost for this set is minimal. I would say for less than 15 bucks you could have nice setup. The little storage cups can be found at dollar tree for a buck. They of course have paint in them already. It up to you to throw this paint away or use. Might be good to play around with?

http://www.dollartre...o?method=search

Once you have your paint ,brushes and lure then it is up to your imagination. The first key to achieve soft shading is thin paint. The second is to use very little paint. Paint in very thin layers. Stencils may also be used or taping off patterns may also be done Just as in airbrushing.

Her is an example of my latest lure using the above method.

Green Snake!

So far I have only done a dozen using the Nordin method.

http://www.outdoor.s...din/wobbler.htm

Prior to this I used the taping and stencil method. Here is an example of this style work.