JDWilson

Spraying Clear Coat

Hello all,

I'm starting a new topic on this from another thread.

My original question was regarding if Auto clear top coats were thinner, more like factory, store bought baits finishes than epoxy's like D2T and Bob Smith which I have been using now. I was looking for a thinner, yet hard top coat. I have no experience with auto clear or DN at this point. I've read nearly every post on this site for the past 2 years and am aware of the issues with all of the top coats most of us use. I am just a hobby painter at this point, doing somewhere between 50 to 75 baits a year for friends and acquaintences. Not doing this for a business.

I asked if this vented spray booth 150718814579_1.jpg, (ebay) provided the vent tube was extended and exhausted to the outside, would this provide adequate ventalation for the fumes that come with auto clear. My shop is in a room in the back of my basement, in the house. Specs on this say it will move 3 cubic meters per minute.

Bob P, thanks for the info on the other thread. I was aware that auto clear fumes were toxic and needed to be handled with care, but thanks for your mention that they are also flammable. My workshop is also my hot water heater and heat pump furnace room as well. Sooooo, I probably better not mess with auto clear just a few feet from those.

That said, Ben (RayburnGuy), thanks for your detailed response in the other thread. Your comment about spraying DN got my attention. So question for either you or Bob (or anyone else for that matter), is are DN fumes also flammable, like auto clear? If so, that will settle the issue for me and I'll stick with D2T and Bob Smith epoxy. But if not, or not as much, I could use the "tap the can" method into the airbrush cup and spray directly into the pictured spray booth vented outside? Do you think that work? Again, the specs on that particular vent say it will move 3 cubic meters per minute.