youthinthewild

Is It Talent Or Can It Be Learned Or Both

It's both. You can put in the time and master the craft and can turn out quality crankbaits with standard paint schemes that catch fish, without much artistic ability. I'm a very pedestrian painter and I KNOW! But if you aspire to produce the kind of top level work you'll see in some of the pics in the TU photo gallery, that requires raw artistic ability. Now, the extent to which game fish appreciate artistic ability is another question... At some level, and I think it's a fairly low level, paint means more to the fisherman than the fish.

Bottom line, don't be discouraged. You get better as time goes on and when your baits catch fish, that's the biggest reward.

• Like 1

Hummm I think it depends on what you want to accomplish and how much you want to put into it. One can paint basic bait patterns but I think to be really really good you have to have some kind of artist ability and eye. All is not lost though, I think some of this can be learned through practice and maybe some art classes. I can't do alot of things but thankfully God has blessed me with a little bit of artistic ability. I'm able to look at something, for example baitfish, and see all the suttle colors that make up the colors of that baitfish. You kinda have to be able to see through colors to see details and the colors that make up the colors. Some colors are two or three different colors that make up one color. You should also experiment, and learn through this wonderful site all of the available techniques there are out there to use. I use many different mediums, techniques and tools on one bait. This is all helpful...but most of all desire and practice. Hope this makes sense and is helpful.

• Like 1