nova

Let's Have Some Fun

Just for a chuckle.

Every area of every country has it's own little sayings that, most times, only means something to those folks in that area. I thought it would be fun and maybe informative to all of us if we put those sayings out there; just for fun. Please do not ridicule anyone for the sayings they put up.(play nice) lol

Here's mine:- Tickidy-boo. It means everything is ok.

Here in New England, especially in RI and the surrounding areas, "wicked awesome" is a pretty popular phrase.

Not much explaining needed, but it's not really a saying that you hear in other regions, that I am aware of.

Oh, and here in RI, we also use the word "Quahog", which is a RI word for "clam". Rhode Islanders dig Quahogs, while everyone else digs clams.

I'm still learning this stuff, but some items are called something completely different in other parts of the country. 

Examples (and please correct me if I'm wrong):

California term:  "tri-tip"

Southern term:  "brisket"

California term:  "soda"

Canadian term:  "pop"

California term:  "Calzoni"

Canadian term:  "Panzerotti"

As a Central California kid, I played baseball on the New York/Canada border, and believe me when I say my "terms" drew more than a few laughs.  LOL

• Like 1

Another phrase we have here in the South is "quicker'n a minner can swim a dipper" meaning quick or fast.

Another one is "he lit a shuck". I've heard several meanings to this phrase including "time to move......or leave" and "left in a hurry". I've also read that the phrase originated back to when a neighbor was visiting and stayed until after dark. He would tie corn shucks together to make a torch so they could see to get back home.

And here in Texas "soda" or "pop" or even "soda pop" are all substituted by "Coke".