tommegna

Hybrid Plastic Finesse Worm

I am trying to make a worm from different bits and pieces of other worms. I have pieced one together, it was a finesse worm with a round head and a ribbed body with a paddle tail 4.5 " long. I am still a newbie at mold and soft worms. When I made the molds, I had lots of trouble trying to make one. I tried P.O.P.& Alumilite III, along with a Smooth-On product Oomoo-30. The P.O.P. had a flat bottom, and the head was not round. The detail was terrible. I am trying to make a one piece mold. I have checked the mold manufacturers sites and they don't have one. I can't afford an expensive mold. Any help would be deeply appreciated. Thanks in advance, Tom Megna.

I made the few I have out of Bondo fiberglass resin (Polyester resin) you will need to make sure your original is glued down so it won't float up in the resin because the resin will heat up during the curing process. It has excellent detail and as long as your not pouring 100's of worms in a session you'll be fine. Search youtube for "senko mold" you should get a hit on a guy who shows the process for you to understand the process. I do have a question though, you do know that no matter what you do a 1 piece mold will have one side flat right?

Late to the party, but I just now noticed this topic section.

To make a two part POP mold that produces a full round bait requires two parts - of course.

1. set oiled lure(s) in the first wet POP bottom layer. I place two popsicle sticks in the POP as guides.

2. grease the surface of the hardened plaster and sticks with vasoline and top off with aluminum foil all around the lure cavity on the POP surface that will be separated. Also grease the top surface of the foil for quicker release.

3. The pour hole is usually either preformed by also putting a large greased straw(s) connecting lure head(s) to the outside or once the two parts set, carve the hole with a knive.