flipper2

Flat Bait Shapes

I'm new to building baits and was wonder why some of the flat sided baits have an arched back with the tail section angled downward instead of straight. Also, how does this affect the action? I am trying to get more of a thumping action out of mine if possible. Any help is greatly appreciated.

Good question flipper2, the experts here at TU will have their opinions for sure.

I'm not an expert but I am a keen observer.

You will hear how injured/dying fish tend to swim up towards the surface and drop down tail first as they are dying. This could be why many flat baits are designed to sink tail first.

Most sport fishing fish are wider at the belly, the health ones anyway. So one could assume an arched back and thin belly bait would appear as a sick/injured fish.

Keep in mind most artificial baits are designed for fisherman not fish. 

I make flat sided baits, both shallow runners with various lip shapes lips and medium runners with coffin shaped lips.  Of the two, the medium runners are much more tricky to get to thump properly.  I believe that any change, even small, always has an effect - but how a down turned tail versus a more straight tail design affects performance is unclear to me.  And that's after hundreds of baits.  So unless someone has an opinion based on testing you can believe, it's up to you to draw your own conclusions.  Personally, I doubt that anyone can satisfy my idea of what constitutes valid testing on this one design point - but I'd be very happy to be proven wrong.

All I can say for sure is that the medium running flat side with coffin lip that I build has a drooping tail and after many experimental batches and years of trying, I got one that works the way I want.  So yep, every future batch will have the same drooping tail.