Skeeter

Chalk In Devcon

For those of you that use Devcon...... watch out because they have started adding chalk and pigment into it. For some reason they have started adding it to the resin. I clear coated a bait the other day and I thought it would just mix in and still come out clear. IT DOESN'T!! Ruined a perfectly good bait. They state it on the front of the package. For the first time in 15 yrs. I am going to have to go shopping for a new clearcoat. I am thinking about Bob Smith epoxy. For those of you that use it..... what do you think of it.

Skeeter

I've been using Bob Smith slow cure (30 minute) for 2 or 3 years now Skeeter and I like it. To me it seems to have a little longer working time and the bubbles seem to dissipate easier that D2T. It has good clarity and seems to be just as tough as D2T.

I switched back and forth between Bob Smith and 3 brushed coats of DN for a while, but find myself using the epoxy more and more. I still like DN, but one coat of Bob Smith is much faster and easier than 3 coats of DN.

hope this helps,

Ben

I was curious about your post so I just walked across the street to Ace Hardware to look at the D2T and there was no problem here.  It did say on the package that you could add chalk to color it but it wasn't in the product.  I talked to the guy at Ace to see if the product was changing and he got on his computer and said he didn't see any changes for Devcon.  So from what I have found out here the Devcon is going to stay the same at Ace.  I did research on the internet to try and find what you bought but couldn't find anything.  I like you do not want to switch and I don't want to ruin any baits so can you post a pic of the package so we know what to look for.  Thanks

• Like 1