Da big tuna

Tapping A Can Of Dick Nite

SO I finally used my last can up. and I'm set to receive a new one Monday . I'm wondering if anyone has a picture of a tapped can? Having a hard time visualizing that. My last batch i transferred to  a canning jar with a lid and used Bloxegon  on top. I  only paint in winter  and was able to get one year out of my last can before it went bad. Not sure if thats good or not. My last dipping session put the final hurt on it. Does dipping cause the hurt?  Being im a part time painter I should find a different top coat but it works for me so well I hate to change .  Does auto clear have the same challenges ?  Thanks in advance 

One year out of a can of DN when dipping lures is pretty good - and yes, dipping causes moisturized DN to fall back into the jar, shortening the life of the DN left in the jar.

Auto clears do have some challenges - they're very toxic so require stringent safety precautions like a mask rated to protect against solvents, positive ventilation of the work  area.  I can't speak to how they perform on a lure since I don't use them, but there have been both positive and negative results reported here on TU.  Auto clears considered durable enough for lures are usually two-part products, so there is inherent waste in that method when they exceed their "pot life".

There are other candidates for topcoating like solvent based concrete sealers like AC1315, UV cured polyester resins like Solarez.  The AC1315 is probably the closest choice to how you have been using DN - you can dip lures, it's a very thin coating, and it is not as sensitive to exposure to moisture, air, etc.   But my gut feeling is that it's also not as durable as DN, which to me is the "World Class" topcoat.  I also have a new can of DN and plan to use 'tap the can' to dispense it.  I'll switch to brushing a quick coat on the lure, then hanging the lure up to let the excess drip off and allow the DN to cure for 2-3 days.