bassfiend72

Wrapped Up And Falling Off

Hello guys.

I have a blank swimbait I have been working on for some time. I had ended up trying to wrap a photo image on it. I ended up using a 3m vinyl wrapped image on there. The fish seem to like it anyway. My problem is the clearcoat I am using will not adhere to this type of material the image is made out of. I am clearing it with devcon 2-ton.I was thinking of some type of adhesion promotor when I lay the image on the bait. Bait is cast with Featherlite. The past times they failed I laid the image cleared in a turner then painted the backs and bottom the re cleared. First trip hook rash caused the clear to come off in chunks. on both sides. it just wont adhere to the vinyl wrap. Anybody have any insight to a clearcoat that can be used with a vinyl wrapped image. Thank everybody for there insight. Im bummed because I'm going to have to paint them now. I dont know how to paint :? Thank you.photo2.JPG

photo2.JPG

photo2.JPG

photo2.JPG

photo2.JPG

photo2.JPG

photo2.JPG

photo2.JPG

post-21788-0-45945400-1429111416_thumb.jpg

If your not dead set on the vinyl there are a couple of tutorials in the "Hard Bait How to" section on how to do photo images. One way is to use water slide decals and there's another where you print the image on the thin tissue paper like that used when packing presents inside shopping bags. The tissue paper disappears once it's applied to the lure leaving just the image visible once it's clear coated.

There are several photos of baits in the gallery using one or the other of these methods if you'd like to take a look.

good luck,

Ben

• Like 1

First thank you for the response. Im assuming nobody that responded has used this type of wrap. The tissue paper and water slide type wraps can look really good. I have found they are unable to print any type of metallic colors. I dont believe there is any type of clearcoat that will adhere to a vinyl wrap material.This is the reason for the post!