Vodkaman

When To Post

Many people believe that you should not answer a question unless you are an authority on that particular subject. I am expecting a few comments on this thread to this effect and they will put forward valid points in their favor. I just happen to disagree and here is my argument:

I am a designer by profession. Usually the items that I am paid to design, I have never even seen let alone worked on before. I spent 25 years designing aircraft, yet I have never been a pilot. Half of that time was spent on military fighter aircraft; hawk and EFA (Typhoon). I designed the wings, leading edge slats, fuel tanks, FDR and CVR installations, chaff and flare defense systems, even ejector seats. I was not an expert on these systems, in fact in most cases a complete novice.

Another example - it was a Saturday morning, when designers are allowed to bring their sons in to the office to see what they do. We were having a design meeting around a table of drawings, brainstorming a problem and getting nowhere. The boss turned to this 9yo boy and asked him what he thought. He suggested that we should turn one part through 180 degrees with a slight change, it would work. Lots of the designers started an 'are but' comment, but could not find a reason why it would not work, and that modification was incorporated into the design.

My rather lengthy and winded point, is that often a fresh approach to an old problem can often open our eyes to different solutions and new ideas. As Pete would say, "You have to think outside the box".

So my opinion is; if you have an idea on a subject, post it.

What is your opinion?

Dave

• Like 3

This is a tackle building forum, a place people come to discuss different techniques and meathods for building tackle

Everyone has their own way of doing things, if their way didn't work, they wouldn't be doing it