Bad Mullett

Primer For Resin Baits

Need some guidance on a primer to dip resin baits. I have been building resin baits for close to 8 years and build primarily top water chugers for bass and jerk/twitch/glide baits for speckled trout. I have a problem that is recurring less and less but still happens, that is bubbles or blisters that appear under the finish months after the bait is finished. I know this is a recurring problem with resin baits as I have read much about it over the years. live in North Carolina about 70 miles form the coast and our summers can be quite hot and all baits I make stay in the garage. That may be part of the problem but not all baits have the problem.I have some that I intentionally left the clear tray in the sun on at least 12 different days fishing in the summer and had no problems. When a lure comes out of the mold it sits for at least a week, and recently I have been letting them have a turn in the dishwasher. I have not used mold release for years. I use Devcon 2 ton for a top coat after using air brush paints like wicked or createx and do heat set. One thing that I have learned is that I have less problems if the bait is given a base coat of D2N first then painted and then a D2N top coat. The issue here is that almost always with the first coat I get a fish eye or a spot where the epoxy pulled away from the resin surface. This can be fixed by applyiing a spot of devcon after the first coat has dryed, then smooth it out with the edge of a small piece of notebook paper. This adds time and more sanding is required to blend the repair for a smooth finish. I am thinking a good primer where the bait can be dipped might help with the first coat of devcon. One last thing, earlier this year I was dippin the baits in sanding sealer then applying the first coat of devcon and never had the fish eye problem but I suspect the sanding sealer may have been one of the culprits of the blisters that sometimes occur. Any advice or guidance would be gr