Fish 30acre

Another Clearcoat Question...

Ok, so, I manufacture fishing lures for a living; mostly larger, hard bodied swimbaits. I have been using a two-part automotive clear for years now, but, for the sake of living a long healthy life, I need to stop using it!!

I am looking for advice on what would be my better alternative... It will need to be applied via airbrush over both water based and oil based paint, hang dried (no rotating), and obviously be very strong and durable. I love how easy and efficient automotive clear is to apply and it has a quick cure time, so I want something similar. I am open to it being UV cured, as well.

I've researched some, but hoping you guys can help with speeding up my process in this transition.

This is difficult to answer because apart from the extreme hazardous nature of the automotive clear, it was the ultimate, perfect topcoat. Hardly surprising, being developed by a multi billion dollar industry for a specific job that just happens to have the same requirements as the fishing lure: spray-on, fast drying, hard, tough, resilient, scratch resistant, UV resistant, etc.

Of all the lure topcoats available; epoxies, resins, acrylics etc. The only one that ticks nearly all the attribute boxes are UV curing acrylics. These are the only topcoat that will give you the speed. Unfortunately it is a dipping process, not a spray on. There are several on the market and they have been discussed many times in TU threads.

Dave

Lately I've been spraying DN S81 moisture cure thinned with acetone. Like auto clear it goes on thin and provides a tough, durable coating that can be hung to cure. The only drawback to your objectives is that it takes a few days to reach a full cure although it is "dry" to the touch in about an hour.

Ben

Look at Solarez gloss UV cured resin.  It is strong, and fast.  

Since it is dipped (at least that's how I do it) if your swimbaits are jointed, you will have dip them before you join the pieces.