dchance

Lee Pot Drips

I don't pour lead, other than a few ballast weights for my cranks, but I have read just about everything here on thread on the subject of cleaning lead stuck in my memory. Also, it seems that once the dripping problem has started, no amount of fluxing will stop it. The pot will need to be cleaned out and you must start again with clean lead. The whole thread is worth reading.

This also means that you need a separate pot for cleaning lead and ladling into ingots.

Frankford Arsenal Cleancast seems to come highly recommended for the job of fluxing/cleaning.

Dave

I've been using them for 30+ yrs. and yeah they'll leak.  I've used hard/soft mix and while I've got it to stop for a while it starts up again. I'll say up front I'm the weird one on here that empty's and cleans the pot after every use as I don't have a workshop where I can leave it.  

When I'm pouring I have a long length of spinner making wire and an old bass jig with the tip cut off and bent into an L shape.  I'll stick a small metal cup I have under the pour spout and then run the wire back and forth out the pour spout and then using heavy pliers and good gloves (which you should have anyway) I'll push that wire up into the spout to knock blocks out.  

I can deal with minor drips it just seems thats the way they are.  Wish I could afford and RCBS pot everyone I know that's bought one has no leak problems.   

Just be safe!!!

It use to drive me crazy how much my pot would drip. When I started using frankford cleancast flux the dripping all but stopped.

I can't think of a single negative thing about the cleancast flux...once I found out how little it takes, even the cost is great in my opinion. I will not melt lead without it ever again.

Also since I started using frankford I have NOT ONCE had to stick wire up the spout. Prior to frankford I don't think I had ever heated up the pot without needing to shove wire up the spout.

Edited by goodtimesfishing