porkmeatballs

What Should I Use To Make My Lures?

Hello all! I'm rather new to TU and I don't know if there is a search function, so forgive me if this question has been asked already. I'm thinking about making a silicone mold for hard swimbaits. What should I use to make the lure? I've heard good things about resin and pvc, but which brands are the best? It would also be really nice if I could get it off of Amazon...  Thanks for reading!

I would run away because once you get into this deal, life will never be the same. You'll look at normal everyday items and try to figure out how to use them to make your next lure. You'll daydream and doodle at work about your next lure build. You'll spend more money than you thought you had in pursuit of the next great lure!

Oh wait, never mind, all that sounds like fun to me. I would recommend PVC. There is a pinned topic called "why pvc" at the top of the hard baits forum regarding this subject.

Edited by FrogAddict
  • Like 3

I would run away because once you get into this deal, life will never be the same. You'll look at normal everyday items and try to figure out how to use them to make your next lure. You'll daydream and doodle at work about your next lure build. You'll spend more money than you thought you had in pursuit of the next great lure!

Oh wait, never mind, all that sounds like fun to me. I would recommend PVC. There is a pinned topic called "why pvc" at the top of the hard baits forum regarding this subject.

Hahahah lol. I know what I'm getting into  :D

The urethane resin will not stick to the silicone, but a spray of mold release will make any detail on the silicone mold last longer. You will need some mold release if you plan on making a two piece silicone mold as well. Watch the makelure.com videos, and check out solarfall baits videos on YouTube. He has lots of great how-to's.