riverotter

Cnc Mill For Swim Baits.

I am a toolmaker by trade and have been running CNC's for the last fifteen years. I see there are quite a few benchtop models available in your price range. My only concern with these would be rigidity. Some of them look pretty flimsy.

What software do you plan to program with?

I am assuming you want a CNC to do 3D milling of the baits.  Most machines are only capable of full 3D machining if it is programmed from a software system such as Mastercam.  This looks to be the case with the mach3 software as well. It is only going to be able to give you simple shapes such as circles and rectangles.  That is referred to as 2 1/2D as opposed to full 3D.

My suggestion would be to look into Autodesk Fusion360. It is a really strong design package that has a machining component built in and, best of all, it is free to students and startup businesses and diy people like yourself.

If you are cutting wood with it I'd actually consider staying away from a mill proper, and go with a decent quality CNC router.  Rigidity can be an issue, out you approach CNC cutting wood for a project like this a little differently I think with small stepover, high rpm, super fast feed rates. 

I have a couple mills and I refuse to cut wood on them because of the fear of sawdust plugging stuff up and having a lubrication issue.  If I toast a bearing on a CNC router they are pretty cheap, and really easy to replace. My router will cut faster than my mills can rapid. 

I've got a small bench top CNC gantry router I use for my wood projects.  I just grease everything and go. 

Edited by Bob La Londe

my plan was to attempt to mill one side then flip the piece and mill the back side. thought about a 4th axis but that's going to be to time consuming I believe.