Leatherhead

New To Soft Plastics

Hello to all. First and foremost , I want to thank each and everyone of you guys for All of the Information that you pass along .Im a retired Firefighter , who broke my back in 2008 and had to hang it up after 21 years of service. Since that time This has become a  hobby for me that I absolutely enjoy doing. With all that being said. I have never injected any soft plastics, but I am very interested in getting started. I have picked out a few molds I would like to try. I really need to know where the best place to find colors and what kind of plastic to start with. I see soft, medium, and hard plastics. Any help would be GREATLY appreciated. Thanks in advance.

SCIBA.

I found that starting with medium plastic was the way to go as most baits will work fine you can buy softener and hardener if you need an adjusted formula. All the suppliers have their good and bad so it really comes down to what molds you like and then see if they have the colors you think you'll like. I personally bought pre-made colors as opposed to buying blue, red, yellow and mixing them to obtain a particular color you have many things on your plate to learn and making/mixing colors is probably left for when you become more familiar with the process. 5 gallons is recommended both for cost savings and the inevitable bad batches while learning which leads me to suggest that you buy a bigger bottle of black colorant as thats what you'll wind up doing to at least rescue you botched colors :rolleyes:

• Like 1