Gab_Mercier

Clear Coat

Hi !

I've been making wooden fishing lure for a couple years now and I've been using 2 part epoxy (nu lustre 55) .I bought quite a lot of plastic crankbait I got a deal on and I was hoping to paint but they have really sharp edges, curves, and detail that just aren't working with epoxy, I was just wondering if any of you use a thin clear coat that you just have to dip the lure ?

I've heard of KBS diamond finish ? could I just dip it or would I have to mix it with something and then brush it ?

Thanks

KBS is thin as water when fresh, and can be used without thinning. Over time it thickens....mine was aprox a year old before I felt the need to thin....I dip. If i was spraying it, I would have thinned sooner. The main thing to remember is if you get any pooling, be sure and remove drip/pool before drying or you will have bubbles in it when it dries.....just grab the drip with a paint brush a few minutes after dipping and you should be good...another thing to remember is do not use a turner like you would with envirotex or you will get bubbles.

Just my opinion hope it helps.

• Like 1

I put a piece of press and seal(plastic wrap) between the jar and the lid, this prevents the lid from getting stuck to the jar. Also I will usually push some of the plastic wrap down in the jar to displace some of the open space when the jar starts getting low.

Not sure that makes sense....picture a square piece of plastic wrap...set it centered on jar...push center down until just before it hits the liquid...fold plastic down jar...now put lid on and tighten. Hope that makes sense. 

The quart I got has last over a year now.

• Like 1

I put a piece of press and seal(plastic wrap) between the jar and the lid, this prevents the lid from getting stuck to the jar. Also I will usually push some of the plastic wrap down in the jar to displace some of the open space when the jar starts getting low.