goldenshinner

Getting more tear strength crappie baits

I'd like to hear thoughts on how to deal with tear strength in small baits...I'm new to soft plastics.only been playing with it for last year. I've used the do it brand and seemed strong. MF soft plastic was very nice soft at cost of strength...I've tried adding hardner but I'm not convinced how much difference it makes on small thin baits..I actually tried melting/ repouring saltwater plastics. Super hard plastic..I had trouble getting it to fill small cavities..should I blend saltwater plastic and soft..or what is solution?

Edited by goldenshinner
Spelling

I would agree that the Essential plastic from Do-it is very "durable" and "tough". And low odor.

Likewise, MF plastic floats and is also a good all around plastic. (I use it for all my drop shot baits)

If you want an additive that makes any plastic more durable and sink...the Do-it additive is super. But it affects the color (you can get a great watermelon brown...but forget about a really transparent  watermelon red flake!

Everything has its pluses and minuses and there is no perfect plastic for everything!

3 hours ago, goldenshinner said:

Is the Calhoun medium free of plasticizer?.. Also would anyone know if its as simple as mixing saltwater plastic with soft to get some intermediate characteristics

There isn't a plastisol out there that is free of plasticizer, it's kind of how they make the PVC soft.