Jig Man

Using the RCBS furnace

I got mine today and put it together.  I followed instructions about how to operate it.  I turned it to 650 and put some ingots in.  When I checked back they were not melted and the light on the switch was off.  I turned it up until the light came back on and went away.  I have been doing this for an hour.  The light goes off and it sounds like the furnace shut down.   The lead has not more than begun to melt.  Is this usual?  Do I need to crank it up until the lead is melted or is it a dud?

1 hour ago, walleyeking said:

I'm pretty sure somethingis wrong with yours. I dont have an RCBS but I know a few people who do and they love them and don't have the problem your talking about.  I would call RCBS and tell them what's going on with it.

I have looked and I can't call them until Monday.  I'm hoping for a cure before then.

Only thing I can think of is a possibility of a build in breaker. Is it plugged directly into the wall? I'm no electrician so I don't know the techical stuff but I know some things you can't use a extension cord for. My buddy had a fish fryer that would do just what your talking when using an extension cord. We plugged it directly into the wall and the problem went away.  Do you have enough amps on the breaker you are running it on?  Not sure if it's possible it would just trip something on the pot and not in your house?  Don't know really just throwing out a couple ideas.  Good luck.