Alakai

Pearl powder?

Hello all, I am trying to dip two color tube baits and was seeing how I can come close to these effects. I am not so much concerned about the technique here, more about how the colors were made. They appear to be less transparent than the bottom layer and thought it was either very, very fine glitter or some pearl powder that I have never used before. Can I get some opinions on how I can make these colors? Thought maybe it is a white pearl powder in a color like chartreuse for one and grey / silver for the other?

Thank you for any help

Green Top.PNG

Grey Top.PNG

Thank you all for the advice on the laminate process. Curious about how to get those colors the hue they are? I am thinking it is a silver pearl for the grey and maybe a green pearl or a white pearl for the top.

It's the shade and cloudiness I am curious about and going after

I could be coming from left field on this one but....

It looks to me like there is no pearl powder in either picture. 

57 minutes ago, Alakai said:

It's the shade and cloudiness I am curious about and going after

I think you may need a color wheel and here's an example of one. I suspect you are new to color matching (as am I) and a color wheel will be an immense help to both of us until we get some practice. Do a search for them and get one that looks like it will be the most help to you.

I got lucky and married a woman that knows how to color match and can teach me. I still plan on getting a color wheel for when she's not around though.

Cloudiness in a color can come from a few sources but one to consider is if there is salt in those bait samples. Salt will impart cloudiness with only a minor shift in the overall color.