FishBlood&RiverMud

Do-It Live Bait Jig - Hook Question

First post.

I'm Andy. Hi!

Casting Live Bait Jigs
Do-It
LBS-6-A

I am using 571 Short Shank hooks 1/0

After casting the first set i didn’t like the hook size in 3/8, 1/2 or 5/8.
Seems too small and too close to lead for me.
The 1/16 up to 1/4 are perfect in a 1/0 though!!

I am thinking a 3/0 would be correct for the bigger sizes. (For what i'm looking for)

Wondering what hook will give me a little more hook gap. Not finding 571 short shank in a 2/0 or 3/0.

I also tried some of the 570 long shank 1/0 and 3/0 hooks that i use for the tear drop style and though the shank was too long.

Hook alternatives to the 1/0 571 Short?

---

This is probably my 12th mold and I have been making lures and sinkers for 10 years or so. 

The cancer has spread and i'm up to 30 colors of powder!

I fish 190-200 days a year. Live right on the Mississippi river in Prescott, WI.
Been lurking here for a few years sipping on all the information.

Time to Join!

Thanks!

Hi Andy,

Welcome to Tackle Underground. Regarding the live bait jig mold, There are very few  hooks that will fit that mold. The hooks you tried, the original EC 571, comes only in 2 sizes #1 and 1/0. As you have found out, the EC 570 hooks will fit in there as well, however they are a longer shank. The only other hook that I know that fits in that mold is a Matzuo #14901 Blk Chrome, Sickle hook.  The hooks are extremely sharp, they are slightly heavier and longer than the #571's . They also have a bigger gap. The hook is unique , however their quality control sometimes isn't all that it should be. If you tell me what size head you want to pour with which hook, I will check the hooks and post some pics.

On another note a jig making addiction is still cheaper than any other addiction. Glad you enjoy making jigs.

Let me know on the head weights and hook sizes.

Cadman

cadman.

Thank you for the insight.

I am interested in a larger hook for 3/8, 1/2, & 5/8 size.