Dblack0781

Help!!! Residue On My Jig Heads (After Baking in Toaster oven)

So I’ve been making jigs for a few years now and from time to time, some type of residue stains my jig heads after I cure them in my toaster oven. It seems that you can only see it on the white or lighter colored jig heads. I first started noticing the residue in the racks in the toaster oven. Thought it was rust at first so I bought a new toaster oven, but the first time I used the new one the same thing happened. All of the hooks I use are black nickel finish. Could that finish be melting off in my toaster oven? If so, am I getting it too hot? I usually bake my heads for 25 minutes on 350 degrees.  

49D1E029-4FFD-46F9-82D6-AD6DBFF2C4DA.jpeg

8C75ECF2-7356-4C4E-A3B1-4A671BE4D09A.jpeg

If you are having problems with different colors of powder, I wouldn’t think it was the powder. If it was just one color, maybe the powder. What are the condition of your jigs before you put the powder on? Are they freshly cast with bright shiny lead or have they been around awhile and oxidized? 

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

53 minutes ago, Apdriver said:

If you are having problems with different colors of powder, I wouldn’t think it was the powder. If it was just one color, maybe the powder. What are the condition of your jigs before you put the powder on? Are they freshly cast with bright shiny lead or have they been around awhile and oxidized? 

They are all freshly cast heads. 

From someone who has never even held a jig head let alone powder coated one, as an engineer, that doesn't look like residue but looks like moisture escaping as steam leaving behind faults in the paint surface.

If you think that this could be a possibility, you could try drying a portion of your white powder by mixing with uncooked rice grains in a sealed container and leaving for a few days.