squirtjwr

Airbrushing Soft Plastics (Newbie)

As the title suggests, I am a newbie at this. With that said, I just have a couple basic questions about airbrushing soft plastic baits. I know there are a few custom painters out there that are focused on painting for the public, but I am only focused on painting for myself. I have purchased a Master Airbrush kit to start with and here are some of my questions. 

1. What kind of paint would be the best? I know the water based paints would require to be re-dipped to protect the colors, is there another paint that makes the process easier? 

2. Where is the best place to buy these paints?

3. Respirator...?

4. What to make stands out of for painting? ( Thin paneling and Brad nails?)

Any information or links to previous posts that you can provide would be greatly appreciated...thanks in advance!

The paint made for painting soft plastics is available from Spikeit ( lureworks). They offer a water based version which like you said needs to have a top coat but does not need to be dipped. You can clear with there solvent based version. The reason for this is not to protect the colors it is to keep them from sticking together. There water based paint will do that. 
  With the solvent based will not require the top coat but will let you know that a respirator will be needed. It has a smell that will clear out your garage when you smell it. Now don’t get me wrong anytime you atomize anything you should wear a respirator. 
 For holding your baits it’s is a good idea to leave on the Sprue to hold the nose and possibly just that might work for you. If not I have used long finishing nails In a piece of wood  to pierce the belly of the bait. If it has a hook slot the a piece of sheet metal with an angle bent like a t will be another option.