Doppelganger Lures

Newbie with a couple of questions

First time making a hard bait, I'm building a small propbait made from pine wood. I just have two questions.

1. How do I know how much weight I need to add to the lure to get it to work properly? I'm more familiar with hard plastic lures which usually just use some small lead balls as weight, but wood baits are different. Obviously if I don't get enough weight that can easily be adjusted, but too much weight and the whole bait is ruined.

2. Can you put stickers or decals on a lure and expect them to hold and last a while underneath a protective coat? I have a specific design I want to put on the lure, but nobody makes a stencil small enough for me to paint it on. Of course, I could just make my own stencil but I'm not very good at drawing and a sticker of some sort is like the easy way out.

Welcome here first of all!  Bait making is a fun and addictive hobby!   

With a small propbait, you might not need any weight at all?  Might be a trial and error thing.  The hardware and hooks might give it enough ballast to remain in an upright position.   Tough to know without some trial and error.   Lots of information on wood density and weight needed if you look up Archimedes dunk test here on the forum.  That probably gets a bit more technical than what you need at the moment

Decals would probably last depending on the topcoats strength.  Many of us use foil (like aluminum foil tape from a hardware store for duct work), or you can buy holographic sticker material.  So as long as you have a good topcoat, whatever is under it should be protected.  That being said, depending on the fish you are catching, might also depend on how long the topcoat lasts!  Lots of great info and help on this site.