lewdawg

worm oil question answered?

That's strange....I talked to Yamamoto enterprises and they said not to use mineral oil and Lure Craft also advertises not to use mineral oil. I can see Lure Craft saying no to mineral oil...because they want to sell their worm oil...but Yamamoto has no reason to not want you to use mineral oil unless it has a adverse effect on their plastic. I always wondered why they don't give you the properties of the actual worm oil they sell to us hand pourers. When I was in business, my insurance carrier was not happy not knowing what I was using...these are chemicals that WE should know what they are...its our health and we should know what we are exposing ourselves to.

I have been pouring for 10 years and have asked my suppliers a 100 times...."what is worm oil?" and the response has been the same.....no answer and most times no response at all.

Here's a simple solution to the mineral oil question. Take some plastic worms, put them in a ziplock bag and put mineral oil on them. Close the bag and let them set. You'll get your answer in a couple of weeks. :rolleyes:

I agree about the right to know for health reasons. Maybe if they thought they would get sued they might just come across with the answer. :twisted:

Just the idea of them being sooooo tight-lipped makes me think that the product just might be a very simple and cheap item that anyone can get their hands on anywhere. :wink:

Lewdawg is correct regarding the MSDS (Material Safety and Data Sheet). When you order plastic, softner, etc you should get one as well.

There is a Federal Law called the "Right to Know" law that includes references to hazardous chemicals and there uses. An MSDS is required by LAW!!!

If your supplier refuses, you can go to the OSHA website and start a complaint process however if the chemical is not hazardous...there is NO requirement to give out its ingredients.