flippncrazy

dipping tubes

I am new to this and would like to give dippin soft plastics a try after finding out my supplier will no longer be making my tubes anymore. So I will do my own tubes and need some good advice about dippin tubes.

I plan to use either 1/4" or 5/16" inch rods ( aluminum or stainless steel ? )

I have my liquid plastic already and also plan on remelting some old plastic so I can keep the same color for some of my baits.

Ok this is my problem, I am not sure about the dippin technique, Do you dip the rod and turn it up side down or do you dip it and spin it horizontal or vertical to keep the bait round and uniform ?

I'm not sure what the salt to plastic ratio is ? would it be 1 part salt to 2 parts plastic ?

I also plan on using "L" shaped rods for dippin laminated colors any suggestions on this type of method ?

I have poured plastic in molds before but dippin with rods is all new to me so any production tips for personal use will be greatly appreciated.

thanks NJfishRGuy great link lots of good info that answers alot of my questions.

Does microwaving plastisol in a pyrex glass keep the plastic hot very long ? I have heated plastisol in aluminum pot sitting on electric portable stove top, My question is from anyones experience which is better ? I would have to say heating in a pot would keep the plastisol hot longer giving you more time to dip more frequently between cooling instead of the microwave method. Of course if you heat up too high and maintain too high of heat on the stove it will scorch and discolor the plastic.

I will do some dips in the next couple days and post some pics and see what you guys think.

Any other tips will be appreciated.

Flippncrazy

I prefer the micro to the hotplate. Although I still use the hotplate for 3 color pours. The drawback with the micro is that you can get small bubbles in the plastic, but if you heat in short bursts they aren't so bad.