Tom S

Injection mold making

I am a plastic injection mold maker by trade, but I now nothing about building a mold for soft plastics. A friend of mine has asked me to build him a mold for soft grub tails to add on to the back of his jerk baits. It would be high qty. so he does not want to hand pour. So I need to start learning about soft plastic molds before I tell him I will build it. Here are some question I hope you can answer for me.

1. can soft plastics be injected with a standard injection press, or is the plastic a 2 part resin wich requires some kind of mixer nozzle?

2. What is the cycle time ( cure time) with soft plastic like used by big companies ie. Berkley

3.Does the mold need water lines for cooling.

4.How do they "eject" parts from the mold, or do they need to be hand peeled out?

5. Does the cavities need a certain finish for releasing or is it best to leave cutter finish?

Sorry to ask so many questions,please reply even if you can answer only one of the questions Thanks in advance!

Tom

please reply even if you can answer only one of the questions Thanks in advance!

Tom

I can tell you the process isnt much different than typical thermal injection molds you make now.

1) The plastic is a heat cure, 1 part component, no mixing.

2-3) The cycle rate depends on how fast you can cool the molds, so yeah, water cooling might be a good consideration in the design.

4) As far as ejection, thats a good question, I wondered how its done myself.

5) A nice finish is always good, but Del, Bob & others, to my knowledge, dont do any extra steps on the cavities, once off the mill. (they have great mills so not really required)

Any imperfections, of course will be carried onto the bait, but the oils in the vinyl make it release well, even from intricately detailed molds.

Thats my take, good luck!

It could be but generally not.

Depending on what type of injection machine you got and what your psi is, you might have alot of things to do differently.