legal limit

excise tax

I was wondering on excise tax that you are supposed to pay, do you pay 10% on the sale price of just the baits, or do you pay the 10% on sale price plus shipping and handeling. example say you sell 6 baits for $8.00 plus $2.00 shipping, would the 10% you owe be on $8.00 or $10.00. Thanks in advance I am new to the excise tax and trying to do things the right way.

Hi David, I don't pretend to know about excise tax, but in my mind the .80 would come out of the 8.00. Therefore your total would still be 10.00. If you are going to add .80 additional for the cost of excise tax, then your sale price would be 8.80 making the excise tax .88 and your total 10.88. Am I making sense :?Pop

Hi Pop, I think I'm going to say the same thing your said, Yes the excise is on the selling price. So if the final price to the customer is $8, then the selling price would be $7.27 and the FET would be 73 cents and the final price would be $8 w/FET and $2 shipping.

The way I come up with the example of my earilier post was,

if my bottom line price for my product is $8, then I would add 10% FET, 80 cents. Then my final price to my customer would be $8.80

I make a price list for my customers and it has the final price, FET included, but when I invoice, it is priced at my price I have to have and then the FET is added to the bottom of the invoice, just like sales tax.

Let me make a suggestion. For example, if you purchase an item wholesale for .60 and you want a 40% mark up, most people would take 40% of .60 and charge .84 which would be wrong. Actually a 40% mark up would make your price 1.00. The way to prove this is to take 40% of 1.00 and the net would be .60 cost. Radio Shack has a small hand held calculator (under 20.00) which does this calculation very easily. If you are doing this type calculation on a regular basis I suggest purchasing one. Just ask for a calculator that does "gross mark up" . Hope that helps. Pop