champlainbaits

Clear Coat (for production)

Hey Folks, I have been following the clear coat issue here for a while now and it always seems to come back to 2 options 1) devcon 2 ton and 2) etex. I think I have those right.

I make crankbaits that sell well, but I pulled them off the market because I find devcon to be problematic. It's a pain to apply, it cracks, chips, etc and in the end I don't think it's worthy of a mass produced bait.

I have limited experience with etex (sp?) and maybe I just need to give that another try but what I'm really looking for is something I can dip or spray so I can include this step in an assembly line. As of now I have a pretty smooth process that comes to a grinding halt at the last step where I need to coat, spin, dry, then drill out the hook holes that got covered in the process.

Sorry to beat this dead horse...but I keep thinking there has to be an easier and better way.

http://www.ladyluckbaits.com

I use etex and am happy with it for the most part. I am sure there are better clearcoats out there but I haven't had the time to test them. You might look at EX74 and EX88 (http://www.creative-wholesale.com/EX88%20EX74.html), I have heard good things about both of them. I personally didn't like Devcon all that well either but many on the board are happy with it.

Good luck.

Jed V.

Hey Guys,

Thanks for the feedback.

Here's how I handle things now...my hook hangers are in the bait and the finish is complete. Then I apply the dev-2 ton and hand rotate it until any inperfections are gone, then I put it on my drying wheel. When it's done I use the point of a razor knife to "drill" out the hook eyelets that got covered in the process (I use a pretty thick layer of dev-2 ton).