KikenChiken

Moisture Trap essential or nice to have?

Guys,

This site is great!!! I (like lots of others) got an airbrush for Christmas. Been ruining more baits than anything else so far.

I had a small compressor and am using it for now. How much value is a purpose built airbrush compressor and moisture trap? Just wondering if the lack of either is causing some challenges or lack of practice? :drool::nuhuh:

The Chiken Out - Get It

I can't comment on the compressor part of your question as I use one like you get in Lowe's or Home Depot (noisy). As for the moisture trap I will say this. I use one. I have yet to see even the smallest bead of moisture in it . . . BUT . . . when I do, I'll be glad it wasn't in the paint I just sprayed. Enough said. Good Luck.

I'm very new to airbrushing, like not even a week since the first time I've seen an airbrush in person. So no expert obviously, so I'm just offering what I know about science. Here's my thoughts:

I think it somewhat depends on what kind of paint you're using. If you're using acrylics (water based), I don't think it matters at all, as long as you open the valve at the bottom of the compressor every time you turn it off so there's no water remaining in the tank. Like I said, new to airbrushing, but if you're using acrylics, I would almost guarantee there'd be no problem since there's already water in the paint, and what comes out of the gun is going to be miniscule and easily mixed with the paint at such a tiny ratio that it won't make a difference.

Even if you're using non-water based paints, painting lures, you probably won't be using very high air pressure. I think the moisture that's released is going to be absorbed by the surrounding air immediately and not be an issue.