goldenshinner

incompatible paints and layers epoxi enamel acylics metalics and hard coat

I am interested in fully understanding compatibility and long term stability issues that can arrise by various painting methods. For example as I understand the "Curring" of certain epoxis and enamels results in a top layer that chemicaly similar to wax. subsequent layering of water based over this class of paint would result in a week bonding layer that would peel over time or possibly fail. perhaps there are tricks to getting non-compatible paints to adhere by for instance preping with Xylenes or layering before the underlayer has cured(normaly not recomended). I am also linking(uploading) a few random examples i have laying around of paint faluire. I am not an expert just a novice that is currious enough to get in trouble. also note that the lures i am uploading, are just for study and furtherment of the lure building hobie. no insult is intended to the makers of them(I actualy liked the lures enough to buy them!)

ok here are the pics. I reduced file size and maximized for efficient band with transfer. enjoy the pics.

here we see a compleate failure of paint. the clear coat is fine. but it is failling from the underlayers. I would appreaciate any recomendations thoughts or comments.

1_DAMAGED-PAINT-ACID-FROG.jpg

1_DAMAGED-PAINT-BIG-13INCH-CR.jpg

here we see crazing under the hard clear coat. this lure was perfect when I purchased it from a local start up company. size of lure is in excess of 13inches. paint job is realy nice otherwise. this lure never saw the water even once. and has been stored indoors at constant temp and humidity.

1_DAMAGED-PAINT-METALIC-CLOSE.jpg