hey guys,

Was wondering if anyone here has painted baitcasters before? ive been airbrushing for about 2 years now and i want to do something besides a hardbait and decided i wanted to paint a reel. Is there any info anyone could send my way to make my first time trying this easier? what kind of paint should i use and clear coat at the end? so far i only have createx and bsi 30 epoxy. is there any special process when tearing the reel apart that i should use? any info really bout anything related to painting reels would be greatly appreciated! 

Thanks,

Connor

There are a number of people who have posted pictures of reels they have painted in the gallery. I'm pretty sure if you messaged them they would be willing to give you any insight they may have.

The one thing I can offer you is about your choice of top coats. BS, or any epoxy for that matter, is going to be too thick. Your going to need something similar to an automotive clear coat that goes on in thinner layers. An epoxy can cause already close reel tolerances to stick or not even fit together.

You might also want to consider using a paint other than Createx for this application. Createx isn't going to really bond with the metal. Paints that are used to paint cars, or other types of metal surfaces, will be a better choice. Just be sure to read up on the safety precautions for using these types of paints before going to work.

good luck,

Ben

• Like 1

There are a number of people who have posted pictures of reels they have painted in the gallery. I'm pretty sure if you messaged them they would be willing to give you any insight they may have.

The one thing I can offer you is about your choice of top coats. BS, or any epoxy for that matter, is going to be too thick. Your going to need something similar to an automotive clear coat that goes on in thinner layers. An epoxy can cause already close reel tolerances to stick or not even fit together.