ScottySas

Glueing Lips IN

I do the same as AZ.  I use a west systems epoxy (mostly cured in about 15 min), so I have some working time to do a few lures at once.  Polycarbonate does not like to stick to anything (not exactly sure what your lips are made of), so it is wise to at least scuff up the surface that's going to be glued.  I usually go one step further and drill two holes and screw the lip in with the epoxy.  Probably not necessary, but on a large lipped musky lure that often smashes into rocks, I'll give the lip all the support I can.  I will have them all lined up and test fitted with the screws before applying epoxy, so it makes that stage pretty easy.  Just apply the epoxy and screw them in, wipe off any epoxy that leaked out.    Because it's happened where I think I've aligned the lip with epoxy perfectly without any pins, and by the time it cured, the lip had moved to the side a bit.  lol   Dang it. 

I'm no pro either by any stretch.  Just letting ya know what I often do on my musky lures.  

Quick tip..if you want to try different sizes or styles of bills in your bait..you can use elmers rubber cement...It is plenty strong to hold for testing..Then when you decide on the Bill the rubber cement peals off clean then us Devcon 2ton or similar to permanently install them..Nathan

• Like 2
  • Thanks 1