Millzee

Resin Mould advice please

G'day, I'm just getting started and have designed, carved and tested a few lures that I'll make moulds for to cast with RC-3 Alumilite Polyurethane Casting Resin and I'm hoping someone might save me a bit of testing.  Is this resin strong enough to make bibs??  If I leave the bibs in my lure and make the moulds, will the resin cast be strong enough for the bibs to not break??  I'm thinking that a small bib on a swimbait I've made should be ok as it won't really need too much strength (no line pull).  A large diver I've made and designed with a large 3mm thick aluminium bib and I've had a thought that if I reinforce the underside of the bib by building it up thicker and shaped back into the lure so the tow point section is between 5-10mm all the way back to the lure, will this be strong enough made out of resin???

Are you thinking of making the bib out of resin or just casting an aluminum bib into the resin body?

If casting an aluminum lip into a resin body it yes it is possible. I have done this with lexan just drill holes in the lip so the resin goes through the lip

making a resin lip would be possible but depending on the micro balloon/resin mix it might be delicate to hitting the bottom. I have successfully made lures similar to flatfish and believers out of resin 

hope that helps 

• Like 1

If you are thinking as a substitute for lexan or metal and trying to keep it thin  I can see there being durability issues. If you poured the bib out of pure resin and the poured your mix for the body it would be a little better 

You can definitely make resin wrigglers/plugs/lipless crankbaits though. It may just be a good excuse to try something new

personally I built nothing but lipless baits for years and I am considering going back in that direction just because I enjoy building lipless baits more 

• Like 1

I think in this case you may aswell give it a try :yay: see if your resin idea works, do some testing