soda

Newbie few questions

Hi everyone, I'm new to making lures and I just made a wooden fat belly minnow lure.  Its 6 inches long made out of pine. Its a top water lure with a lip that I want it to go about 5 to 8 ft deep. So I'm at the point where I'm gluing lead weight to the belly to find that perfect floating height in the water. No matter how much weight I place the lure leans on its right side. All the sides look even, I tried placing the weight in numerous locations...its weird and I'm starting to the one side of the wood is heavier even though it looks even. Any help would be appreciated.

Also one more question. I'm finding that when I make wooden lures the weight of the lures I make are never the same weight in the store bought lures. Meaning if I buy a 6 inch lure in the store its light as a feather and If I was to try and make the same lure mine would weight much heavier. I know its probably different material, wood type ect...but Its hard to explain, its like a different feeling of weight if that makes sense. I don't really feel the weight with store bought lures.

Thank everyone in advance...

• Like 1

Ok for your present lure issue does your lure float level side to side? If so it likely is not a balance issue 

Is the lip perfectly straight? If the lip slot is crooked it will swim to one side 

if you line tie is crooked/off center it will also swim to one side 

as for commercial lure weight vs had made lure. Material used is often the case and depending on the design differences less weight maybe needed too. Lure size is just one factor 

hope this helps

• Like 1

11 hours ago, soda said: