bassshack

Experienced glide Bait builders

Just now, bassshack said:

What are you using  for the tails and fins?

On 1/14/2023 at 12:05 PM, mark poulson said:

In my experience, anything added to the tail creates drag, and slows down the swimming action.

What should i use to make tails and fins, i don't want something supper ridged. Im using plastisol with alot of hardner but it just to hard to work with burns supper easy if it wasn't for burning id use it I like the feel of it. what do  you recomend ?

This is my first post to tackle underground and thought where better to post than somewhere where experienced bait makers could help by critiquing my design. Here are my questions as a complete newbie. This bait without tail is 7” long and  1” thick near nose and rib cage. I used  25% microspheres (140ml resin and 35ml microspheres) the bait with the lead shot is 4.7ounces. I put the joint almost dead center and hot glued lead shot for ballast/balance in the water. I tried gliding it and it totally sucked! : ) 

It did float balanced at the top of the waterline however, when I went to reel quarter turns it didn’t glide and listed to one side.

1. Is my bait completely too blocky? If so, should I sand it down to a sleeker design and create a new mold? My edges on top and bottom seem too abrupt  

2. Do I need to use more microspheres? Is the general rule for glide baits to make the bait really float (say 50% microspheres) then weight it down in the water?

3. Should the glide bait be near the water surface or 6-12” under the water?

4. could the terrible swimming action, because I simply had lead shot hot glue to the bottom of the bait versus recessed within the bait?

I would be incredibly grateful for any help you can offer. Like I said, I’m completely new to all this….but it’s very addicting and feeds my fishing habit. 

2EDD56E1-731C-4FFB-9C4C-D6CA0F36152C.jpeg

2AABC84A-70F3-46E5-8201-52FE070EEFC6.jpeg

F6D7C5A1-B270-4E23-8C7B-CA9EEF7A9A6F.jpeg