RiverSmallieGuy

Swimbait tails

Hey fellas been a while, but I have a question about swimbaits and how tails affect the action. I have noticed that a lexan tail can sometimes kill the action, but dont know what to expect of any of the other styles for a jointed lipless bait. Which tails are the best for getting a lot of motion out of a bait?

It depends on the bait, how big the tail is relevant to the bait, type of tail ( hard to soft )...

Generally for argument sake glide baits have a stationary tail and wake/divers have a moveable tail.

Yes the type of tail can/will drastically give or take away movement depending on the bait.

Specifics can only be answered properly with the type, size and weight of the bait.

Built a few baits.... I always try several different tails to get the exact action I want.

My .02 

• Like 2

10 hours ago, azsouth said:

It depends on the bait, how big the tail is relevant to the bait, type of tail ( hard to soft )...

Generally for argument sake glide baits have a stationary tail and wake/divers have a moveable tail.

Yes the type of tail can/will drastically give or take away movement depending on the bait.

Specifics can only be answered properly with the type, size and weight of the bait.

Built a few baits.... I always try several different tails to get the exact action I want.

My .02 

thank ya man. I found that even with a soft tail, one of my 3pc wakes wouldnt swim great, so im rollin tailless on that one, i plan to use a hard lexan tail on a small glide that im building. Will post pics of both baits

I have used a part of a feather cut into a tail shape, paint brush bristles, or a fin cut from a thin silicone place mat or under sink mat. These don't noticeably affect the action on my baits.